The IEEE James H. Mulligan, Jr. Educational Medal recognizes the importance of the educator’s contributions to the vitality, imagination, and leadership of the members of the engineering profession. Formerly the IEEE Education Medal, this award was established in 1956 by the American Institute of Electrical Engineers, and continued by the Board of Directors of IEEE.

Past Recipients

2022 IEEE James H. Mulligan Jr. Award Recipient

Ned Mohan headshotNed Mohan (Life Fellow): Regents Professor and Oscar A. Shott Professor of Power Electronics and Systems, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Minnesota, St. Paul, Minnesota, USA. “For leadership in power engineering education by developing courses, textbooks, labs, and a faculty network.”

Watch to the 2022 Award Ceremony Video →

View previous Award Recipients →


Nomination deadline:  15 June
Committee approval: November
Recipient notified: November


An individual IEEE member in the teaching profession; For a career of outstanding contributions to education in the fields of interest of IEEE.

Basis for Judging

Excellence in teaching and ability to inspire students; leadership in electrical engineering education through publication of course materials and writings on engineering education; leadership in the development of programs in curricula or teaching methodology; contributions to the engineering profession through research, engineering achievements, and technical papers; participating in the education activities of professional societies; and quality of nomination.

Selection committee

Coming soon…


The award consists of a gold medal, a bronze replica, a certificate, and honorarium.

Instructions and guidelines for award nominations

Learn more on the Nomination Portal →