About the History Prize

The Bernard S. Finn IEEE History Prize (formerly the IEEE Life Members Prize in Electrical History) is supported by the IEEE Life Members’ Fund and administered by the Society for the History of Technology (SHOT). The prize is awarded annually to the best paper in the history of electrotechnology – power, electronics, telecommunications, and computer science.

Past Recipients

2022 Bernard S. Finn IEEE History Prize Award Recipient

Diana Montano headshot

Diana Montaño: Assistant Professor of History, Washington University in St. Louis, MO, USA. Awarded for “Ladrones de Luz: Policing Electricity in Mexico City, 1901–1918,” Hispanic American Historical Review (2021) 101 (1): 35–72.

View previous Award Recipients →


Nomination deadline: 30 April
Committee approval:  TBD
Recipient notified: TBD


Any article published during the preceding year in a learned periodical is eligible.

Basis for Judging

Any article published in a learned periodical is eligible if it treats the art or engineering aspects of electrotechnology and its practitioners. The article must be written in English, although the journal or periodical in which it appears may be a foreign language publication.

Selection committee

  • Alexander Magoun, Chair (2022-2024)
  • Sadegh Fogani (2021-2023)


The prize consists of a cash award of US$1,000 and a certificate. On request IEEE can provide a travel subsidy (up to max. US$750 domestic, US$1,000 international) to allow the winner to attend SHOT’s annual meeting, and SHOT can waive the basic registration and awards-event fee for the winner.

Instructions and guidelines for award nominations

To nominate an article, please upload a digital copy of the article to the online submission system. Contact Jan Korsten, SHOT Secretary, [email protected] for information on submitting a nomination.

Online submission form →